The Whitworth Award

2013 CEA Whitworth Award Winner: A Sustained Focus on Students on the Margins

Dr. Kate Tilleczek recognized for her outstanding body of research that documents the impacts of the modern world on young people

IB ImageCEA is pleased to honour Dr. Kate Tilleczek, Professor and Canada Research Chair in Youth Cultures and Transitions in the Faculty of Education and Arts (Sociology/Anthropology) at the University of Prince Edward Island, with the 2013 Whitworth Award for Career Research in Education. This award is in recognition of Dr. Tilleczek’s work in articulating the impacts of modern society on marginalized students in the context of transitions through school, mental health, and technology.

After 15 years of teaching at a regional university in Northern Ontario, Dr. Tilleczek embarked on a research career to explore how and why socioeconomic status represents one of the greatest predictors of how well students do at school and later in life. In 2005, she joined a group of dedicated colleagues at the Hospital for Sick Children with whom she continues to work today as an adjunct research scientist.

Based on her previous research on early school leavers, student transitions from elementary to secondary school, and the issue of marginality, Dr. Tilleczek’s current ambitious portfolio includes community school building processes that engage students and communities in developing curriculum in both inner city Toronto and in five aboriginal communities in Southern Chile. She is also leading an international study on the educational and social impacts of technology on young people, and is co-leading another project in each Atlantic province to study how youth and their families are moving through mental health systems.

Dr. Tilleczek’s research and publications to date inform policymakers on why and how they should make important policy and practice changes to better the lives of young people. 

To access a bibliography of Dr. Tilleczek’s work, please visit:

Click here to access related press release

The recognition


About the Whitworth Award

Since 1967, the Whitworth Award has recognized individuals who have made a sustained and substantial contribution to educational research over a period of time. It has been awarded since 1967 and is awarded every three years.

The current award holder:

  • Dr. Kate Tilleczek

Previous winners:

Related videos:

Related content: